ASA Awards

Recognizing Excellence in the Field of Aging

Recipients of the 2019 ASA Leadership Awards were honored at the
Aging in America Conference 
on April 15, 2019 in New Orleans.

ASA takes pride in recognizing leaders in the field who not only contribute to the success of ASA, but to the field at large. At left are links to each of the awards where you can view descriptions, view current and previous winners of these awards, as well as the criteria for each.

Leadership Awards nominations will require completing a few questions about the nominee’s specific contributions, a history of the nominee’s leadership experience in ASA (board, committee or council service) if appropriate, a letter of recommendation and a biosketch of the nominee. The Graduate Student Research Award has specific criteria and requires submission of the research paper.

The Constituent Group Award nominations require the nominee’s biosketch and answering specific questions related to the individual award.

Use the menu to the left to learn more about each of the awards and to submit nominations

Nominations for the 2020 ASA Leadership Awards will be accepted beginning in June. Check back then for information on how to submit a nomination for the 2020 awards!

Awards Open to All Professionals in the Field of Aging

  • Hall of Fame Award (preference may be given to current ASA members)
  • Graduate Student Research Award
  • MindAlert Award

Awards Open to ASA Members Only

  • ASA Award
  • Gloria Cavanaugh Award for Excellence in Training and Education
  • Mental Health and Aging Award (MHAN)
  • Award for Excellence in Multicultural Aging (NOMA)
  • ASA Award for Religion, Spirituality and Aging (FORSA)

Awards will be presented at the 2020 Aging in America Conference, March 24-27, 2020 in Atlanta.